It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 1:26 am
Login

HSS strat wiring 500k/250k

The place to be when Bob means something more than just, well... Bob.

Postby John01W » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:01 am

Hey folks...gonna put some Suhr v60lps(neck mid), and a DSV+(bridge) in my strat...but I'm having some problems trying to get these pickups the right values...

how do you get the humbuckers to see 500k pots, and the singles 250k with a single volume? One of those stacked dual value pots? These would use both the original tone pots of the strat(i really like the no load tone control on the bridge)

It's in an American alder/rw fretboard strat.

How does Suhr do it?

Thanx,
John
User avatar
John01W
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 1543
Joined: 12 Dec 2003

Postby Eagle » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:32 am

Like this

Image

and this

Image

you would need a 500k delta pot to get the no load feature.

8)
User avatar
Eagle
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 6095
Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Location: the twilight zone

Postby chacal » Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:19 pm

Hi there

I do not understand all af this... what is the "no load" feature?

I also got a HSS pickup set on my strat and would like to wire it with overall volume and tone controls and also (maybe) a split switch for the 'bucker....
guitar systems / guitar tech for European guitarists
http://www.chkguitarsystems.fr.nf/
sound design
http://soundcloud.com/alexandrechacalcriado
User avatar
chacal
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 910
Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Location: france

Postby John01W » Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:05 pm

chacal wrote:Hi there

I do not understand all af this... what is the "no load" feature?

I also got a HSS pickup set on my strat and would like to wire it with overall volume and tone controls and also (maybe) a split switch for the 'bucker....


Hi...I have the no-load pot in my am strat, I'm sure you can get these. It's a pot that 0-9 is like a regular tone pot, but when it's on 10 the tone pot is removed from the circuit.

I'm wondering if the hss with it looks like a resistor for each single can be wired with the standard fender 5-way....
User avatar
John01W
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 1543
Joined: 12 Dec 2003

Postby Flukather » Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:22 pm

John01W wrote:
chacal wrote:Hi there

I do not understand all af this... what is the "no load" feature?

I also got a HSS pickup set on my strat and would like to wire it with overall volume and tone controls and also (maybe) a split switch for the 'bucker....


Hi...I have the no-load pot in my am strat, I'm sure you can get these. It's a pot that 0-9 is like a regular tone pot, but when it's on 10 the tone pot is removed from the circuit.

I'm wondering if the hss with it looks like a resistor for each single can be wired with the standard fender 5-way....


No, you need a mega/super/multipole 5-way switch to do it.
Team Shirtless (aka the jerk-squad): andergtr, Matt5150, pedalpat, Flinto2002, guitartech72, ChrisPtacek, phbtrip, bonerhed.

Please, do not feed the idiots.
User avatar
Flukather
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby Eagle » Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:23 pm

John01W wrote:
chacal wrote:Hi there

I do not understand all af this... what is the "no load" feature?

I also got a HSS pickup set on my strat and would like to wire it with overall volume and tone controls and also (maybe) a split switch for the 'bucker....


Hi...I have the no-load pot in my am strat, I'm sure you can get these. It's a pot that 0-9 is like a regular tone pot, but when it's on 10 the tone pot is removed from the circuit.

I'm wondering if the hss with it looks like a resistor for each single can be wired with the standard fender 5-way....


No it can't be wired without the mega 4 pole switch and the no load delta pot is only available from Fender. :roll:

Flukather beat me to the answer.
User avatar
Eagle
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 6095
Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Location: the twilight zone

Postby John01W » Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:35 pm

Eagle wrote:No it can't be wired without the mega 4 pole switch
Flukather beat me to the answer.


Thanks a bunch man.

Eagle wrote: and the no load delta pot is only available from Fender. :roll:


Yes I know... I just meant you could get the part, it's pretty easy to find online. I was just hoping that I would be able to keep the delta tone system in my strat with the new wiring.

Thanks again for your help
User avatar
John01W
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 1543
Joined: 12 Dec 2003

Postby gdgross » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:23 pm

Eagle wrote:Like this

and this

you would need a 500k delta pot to get the no load feature.



Thanks for those eagle. I'm doing the same thing to my esp strat.

Couple of questions, though: First, what kind of switch is that in the diagram, and second, what is the configuration in the 4th position?
Geoff
User avatar
gdgross
Medium Member
Medium Member
Posts: 196
Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles

Postby Eagle » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:40 pm

Oak grigsby 4pole megaswitch (allparts).
Position 4 is auto coil tap(inside coil).
User avatar
Eagle
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 6095
Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Location: the twilight zone

Postby Suhr » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:46 pm

Eagle wrote:
John01W wrote:
chacal wrote:Hi there

I do not understand all af this... what is the "no load" feature?

I also got a HSS pickup set on my strat and would like to wire it with overall volume and tone controls and also (maybe) a split switch for the 'bucker....


Hi...I have the no-load pot in my am strat, I'm sure you can get these. It's a pot that 0-9 is like a regular tone pot, but when it's on 10 the tone pot is removed from the circuit.

I'm wondering if the hss with it looks like a resistor for each single can be wired with the standard fender 5-way....


No it can't be wired without the mega 4 pole switch and the no load delta pot is only available from Fender. :roll:

Flukather beat me to the answer.


I've been doing no load pots since the 80's, it is the same as what you you do for a "blend" pot, you can take apart a CTS pot, lightly scrape the carbon trace until you break the connection and re-assemble the pot.
www.suhr.com
Please contact me via email through our website.
I won't be checking in here.
Thanks to all who appreciated me being here. It was fun while it lasted.
User avatar
Suhr
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 7251
Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Location: Puffin da herb

Postby vinni » Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:15 am

Hi all.....

Little hijacking this thread....

I have two Suhr FL's and a DSV+ ordered and I only want to use a single mastervolume...no other pots.

I have a 500k pot....but how do I wire this up?
I've read somewhere that you have to use a resistor and a cap simulating the tonepot-circuit.

Haven't found any schematics on the internet how to do this.

Thanks,
Vinni
User avatar
vinni
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 1907
Joined: 19 Nov 2004

Postby Eagle » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:04 am

vinni wrote:Hi all.....

Little hijacking this thread....

I have two Suhr FL's and a DSV+ ordered and I only want to use a single mastervolume...no other pots.

I have a 500k pot....but how do I wire this up?
I've read somewhere that you have to use a resistor and a cap simulating the tonepot-circuit.

Haven't found any schematics on the internet how to do this.

Thanks,
Vinni


It's just the second daigram omitting the tone pot and its caps and resistors.
User avatar
Eagle
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 6095
Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Location: the twilight zone

Postby Flukather » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:16 am

Eagle wrote:
vinni wrote:Hi all.....

Little hijacking this thread....

I have two Suhr FL's and a DSV+ ordered and I only want to use a single mastervolume...no other pots.

I have a 500k pot....but how do I wire this up?
I've read somewhere that you have to use a resistor and a cap simulating the tonepot-circuit.

Haven't found any schematics on the internet how to do this.

Thanks,
Vinni


It's just the second daigram omitting the tone pot and its caps and resistors.


Actually he wants to fake the tonepot being in the circuit as well. The tonepot and it's cap load down the signal as well.

Where you would normally put the tonepot, just put a resistor there instead. It should work.
Team Shirtless (aka the jerk-squad): andergtr, Matt5150, pedalpat, Flinto2002, guitartech72, ChrisPtacek, phbtrip, bonerhed.

Please, do not feed the idiots.
User avatar
Flukather
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 2997
Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby vinni » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:27 am

So no cap is needed?

I seem to remember an article from a famous luthier (really can't remember his name :x ) that described a circuit WITH a cap and resistor.
Hmm....I could be wrong though....

Vinni
User avatar
vinni
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 1907
Joined: 19 Nov 2004

Postby Eagle » Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:32 pm

Flukather wrote:
Eagle wrote:
vinni wrote:Hi all.....

Little hijacking this thread....

I have two Suhr FL's and a DSV+ ordered and I only want to use a single mastervolume...no other pots.

I have a 500k pot....but how do I wire this up?
I've read somewhere that you have to use a resistor and a cap simulating the tonepot-circuit.

Haven't found any schematics on the internet how to do this.

Thanks,
Vinni


It's just the second diagram omitting the tone pot and its caps and resistors.


Actually he wants to fake the tone pot being in the circuit as well. The tone pot and it's cap load down the signal as well.

Where you would normally put the tone pot, just put a resistor there instead. It should work.


Correct but it depends what your after ,on a one humbucker one volume configuration you wouldn't add a cap to mimic the absent tone control so I would still leave it out so that it just gets the right volume pot value as this is the main advantage of this wiring to me, It's all personal taste try both and keep the one you like. :wink:
User avatar
Eagle
Huge Member
Huge Member
Posts: 6095
Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Location: the twilight zone

Next

Return to Gear talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], mudshark, nicolas and 9 guests


Who is online

In total there are 12 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 9 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 263 on Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:52 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], mudshark, nicolas and 9 guests

Login Form